We are open. You are welcome to visit us at any time, no registration needed. Guided tours and workshops require “3G”, which means we need to see a proof that you are either vaccinated, tested or have recovered from COVID-19.

Jacoba van Heemskerck
Kompromisslos modern
19 06 21
05 09 21

In less than two decades, Jacoba van Heemskerck (1876-1923) created a powerful oeuvre that includes paintings, woodcuts and glass works. Rhythmic compositions of pictorial space, black outlines and an intensive use of colour characterise the Dutch artist’s expressive landscape, city and harbour motifs.

Van Heemskerck differs from other protagonists of Expressionism through her turn to Anthroposophy. For her, art is not only an expression of subjective feeling, but also a path to knowledge, especially about the elementary effect of light and colour on the viewer. The luminosity and increasing transparency of her works make this clear. At the same time, applied art is not less important to her than painting; on the contrary, at the end of her life, van Heemskerck realised her striving for “luminous spiritual” colours in glass art.

The exhibition shows about 60 works from all creative phases: Paintings, drawings, woodcuts, glass works and mosaics. They range from a representational, strictly rhythmic formal language to an organic, flowing abstraction.

After deciding to become an artist, the Dutchwoman initially worked in the circle of the painter Piet Mondrian. She exhibited in Amsterdam, Domburg, Brussels and Paris with her mainly male colleagues. From 1913 to 1923 she was part of the avant-garde movement of Herwarth Walden’s “Sturm” in Berlin, where she was one of the most frequently exhibited positions. The renowned gallery owner and publisher also made artists such as Franz Marc, Wassily Kandinsky, Gabriele Münter and Alexej Jawlensky known.

Van Heemskerck’s search for spirituality and her rejection of an understanding of nature and the cosmos that is purely determined by materialism and positivism make her work highly topical today, when we are once again challenged to see the complex interrelationships in the world as a whole under different auspices.

Curator: Dr. Henrike Mund

An exhibition of the Kunsthalle Bielefeld in cooperation with the Kunstmuseum Den Haag, Netherlands, the Museen Stade, and the Edwin Scharff Museum Neu-Ulm, under the patronage of H. E. Wepke Kingma, Ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Germany.

The exhibition is sponsored by the Kulturstiftung pro Bielefeld and the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

The accompanying exhibition catalogue (Hirmer Verlag) is sponsored by the Ernst von Siemens Kunststiftung.

Herzlich willkommen! Alle Ausstellungen können Sie jederzeit spontan besuchen. Tickets erhalten Sie an der Museumskasse. Für Ihren reg­ulären Be­such benöti­gen Sie kei­nen „3G-Nach­weis“ (getestet, geimpft, ge­ne­sen). Für die Teil­nahme an Führun­gen und Work­shops ist ein „3G-Nach­weis“ notwendig.
Ihr Team der Kunsthalle Bielefeld

schließen

Jacoba van Heemskerck
KOMPROMISSLOS MODERN
19 06 21
05 09 21

Jacoba van Heemskerck (1876–1923) hat in weniger als zwei Jahrzehnten ein kraftvolles Œuvre geschaffen, das Gemälde, Holzschnitte und Glasarbeiten umfasst. Rhythmische Kompositionen des Bildraums, schwarze Umrisslinien und ein intensiver Farbeinsatz prägen die expressiven Landschafts-, Stadt- und Hafenmotive der Niederländerin.

Durch ihre Hinwendung zur Anthroposophie unterscheidet sich van Heemskerck von anderen Protagonist*innen des Expressionismus. Kunst ist für sie nicht nur Ausdruck subjektiver Empfindung, sondern auch ein Weg der Erkenntnis, vor allem über die elementare Wirkung von Licht und Farbe auf die Betrachter*innen. Die Leuchtkraft und zunehmende Transparenz ihrer Werke machen dies deutlich. Dabei nimmt die angewandte Kunst bei ihr keinen geringeren Stellenwert ein als die Malerei, im Gegenteil, am Ende ihres Lebens verwirklicht van Heemskerck in der Glaskunst ihr Streben nach «leuchtend geistlichen» Farben.

Die Ausstellung zeigt ca. 60 Werke aus allen Schaffensphasen: Gemälde, Zeichnungen, Holzschnitte, Glasarbeiten und Mosaike. Sie reichen von einer gegenständlichen, streng rhythmisierten Formensprache bis zu einer organisch-fließenden Abstraktion.

Nach ihrer Entscheidung für die Künstlerinnenlaufbahn ist die Niederländerin zunächst im Umfeld des Malers Piet Mondrian tätig. Sie stellt in Amsterdam, Domburg, Brüssel und Paris mit den überwiegend männlichen Kollegen aus. Von 1913 bis 1923 gehört sie zur avantgardistischen Bewegung des «Sturm» von Herwarth Walden in Berlin und ist dort eine der am meisten gezeigten Positionen. Der namhafte Galerist und Verleger machte auch Künstler*innen wie Franz Marc, Wassily Kandinsky, Gabriele Münter oder Alexej Jawlensky bekannt.

Van Heemskercks Suche nach Spiritualität und ihre Ablehnung eines rein durch Materialismus und Positivismus bestimmten Verständnisses der Natur und des Kosmos machen ihr Werk heute, wo wir unter anderen Vorzeichen wiederum gefordert sind, die komplexen Zusammenhänge in der Welt als Ganzes zu sehen, höchst aktuell.

Kuratorin: Dr. Henrike Mund

Die Ausstellung ist in Kooperation mit dem Kunstmuseum Den Haag, den Museen Stade und dem Edwin Scharff Museum Neu-Ulm entstanden. Sie steht unter der Schirmherrschaft von S. E. Wepke Kingma, Botschafter des Königreichs der Niederlande in Deutschland.

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert von der Kulturstiftung pro Bielefeld und dem Königreich der Niederlande.

Der begleitende Ausstellungskatalog (Hirmer Verlag) wird gefördert von der Ernst von Siemens Kunststiftung.

Kunstmuseum Den Haag

logo_kunsthaus_rgb

ESM_Logo_clean

GNKL-LG-GR-rgb-300dpi-0110

pro-Bielefeld_LOGO

EvSK_positiv_4c_72dpi