We are open. You are welcome to visit us at any time, no registration needed. We welcome wearing masks.

Architecture

The Kunsthalle building is considered a landmark of Bielefeld. It is located in the centre of East Westphalia, between Bielefeld’s old town and the foothills of the Teutoburg Forest. In front of the building, you can see the Neustaedter Marienkirche and the Sparrenburg in the distance. Built by Philip Johnson in 1968, the museum and exhibition house has been renovated since 2002 and, thanks to an initiative of the Förderkreis Kunsthalle Bielefeld e.V., is illuminated at night.

The Kunsthalle Bielefeld is part of the Architecture Route Art Museums (Architekturroute Kunstmuseen).

Architect

Philip Johnson (1906-2005) built the cube-shaped, modern building of red Main sandstone from 1966 to 1968. It is the only European museum building by the American Harvard graduate and former collaborator of Mies van der Rohe, who established the architecture department at the New York Museum of Modern Art.
The cubic art hall architecture, based on a square ground plan, comprises three floors above ground and two below. The entrance hall with café and adjacent painting studio for art education as well as the first and second exhibition floors are above ground.
The lower floors contain another painting room, a film and lecture hall, a library open to the public and the administration. The building, with its almost 1,200 square metres of exhibition space, has an international reputation as an architectural monument, museum and art gallery.

Philip Johnson was a committed National Socialist in the 1930s. Since 2018, the sculpture “Bus Shelter XII. Shattered Glass / The Confessions of Philip Johnson” by Dennis Adams has stood in front of the Kunsthalle, casting a critical eye on Johnson’s ambivalent personality.

Dennis Adams Bus Shelter XII Tag3

Herzlich willkommen! Alle Ausstellungen können Sie jederzeit spontan besuchen. Tickets erhalten Sie an der Museumskasse. Für Ihren Besuch gilt 2G – bitte weisen Sie nach, dass Sie geimpft oder genesen sind. Kinder und Jugendliche unter 16 Jahren sind davon ausgenommen.
Ihr Team der Kunsthalle Bielefeld

schließen

Architektur

Das Kunsthallengebäude gilt als ein Wahrzeichen Bielefelds. Es liegt im Zentrum Ostwestfalens, zwischen der Bielefelder Altstadt und den Ausläufern des Teutoburger Walds. Vor dem Gebäude erkennt man in der Ferne die Neustädter Marienkirche und die Sparrenburg. Das von Philip Johnson 1968 im ‘internationalen Stil’ erbaute Museum und Ausstellungshaus ist seit 2002 dank einer Initiative des Förderkreises Kunsthalle Bielefeld e.V. nachts beleuchtet.

Die Kunsthalle Bielefeld ist Teil der Architekturroute Kunstmuseen.

Architekt

Das würfelförmige, moderne Gebäude aus rotem Mainsandstein wurde von 1966 bis 1968 nach den Plänen von Philip Johnson (1906-2005) errichtet. Es ist der einzige europäische Museumsbau des amerikanischen Harvard-Absolventen und ehemaligen Mitarbeiters Mies van der Rohes, der die Architekturabteilung am New Yorker Museum of Modern Art aufgebaut hat.
Die kubische, auf einem quadratischen Grundriss basierende Kunsthallenarchitektur umfasst drei oberirdische und zwei unterirdische Etagen. Die Eingangshalle mit Café und angrenzendem Malatelier für die Kunstvermittlung sowie die erste und zweite Ausstellungsetage liegen über der Erde.
In den untereren Geschossen befinden sich ein weiterer Malraum, ein Film- und Vortragssaal, eine öffentlich zugängliche Bibliothek und die Verwaltung. Das Haus mit seinen knapp 1.200 qm Ausstellungsfläche genießt als Architekturdenkmal, Museum und Kunsthalle einen internationalen Ruf.

Dennis Adams Bus Shelter XII Tag3

Philip Johnson war in den 1930er Jahren überzeugter Nationalsozialist. Seit 2018 steht vor der Kunsthalle die Skulptur “Bus Shelter XII. Shattered Glass / The Confessions of Philip Johnson” von Dennis Adams, die kritische Blicke auf Johnsons ambivalente Persönlichkeit wirft.